Effective January 1, minimum hourly wage is set to increase in both Michigan and California. According to the Oscoda Press, in Michigan, the minimum wage will increase from $8.90 to $9.25 and hour, for those over 18. In California, the OHS Online states that the minimum wage will be $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer workers and $11 an hour for employers with 26 or more. According to a law signed by Gov. Jerry Brown last year, the wages will keep increases in California to $15 an hour by 2022 for large businesses and by 2023 for small businesses.