NAMA announces the 2023 industry award recipients

May 8, 2023
NAMA’s Industry Person of the Year, David Marler; Operator of the Year, Moran Refreshments (Patrick D. Moran); and Allied Member of the Year, G & J Marketing and Sales (Dan Kozlak), will be recognized at The NAMA Show 2023.

The National Automatic Merchandising Association (NAMA) announced the 2023 winners of its three NAMA Industry Awards, which recognize one individual and representatives from two standout companies in the convenience services industry.

The 2023 award recipients are:

  • Industry Person of the Year – David Marler, LightSpeed Sales Executive, 365 Retail Markets
  • Operator of the Year – Moran Refreshments, Patrick D. Moran, President
  • Allied Member of the Year – G & J Marketing and Sales, Dan Kozlak, Vice President of Marketing

The recipients will be honored at The NAMA Show 2023 as part of the general session on Wednesday, May 10.

“NAMA represents an industry of talented individuals and companies that are breaking new ground, solving challenges and setting a path forward for convenience services,” Carla Balakgie, FASAE, CAE, president and CEO of NAMA, said in the announcement. “The 2023 Industry Award recipients reflect the best of the best, recognized by industry peers as outstanding professionals in their fields for their dedication and leadership in areas that will advance and promote the convenience services industry for years to come.”

David Marler – Industry Person of the Year 

The Industry Person of the Year Award recognizes an individual who has consistently exemplified the highest standards of professional excellence and achieved business success throughout their career in the convenience services industry. 

Marler, LightSpeed sales executive at 365 Retail Markets, has spent his career listening, learning and providing solutions crucial to the industry’s success. At LightSpeed Automation, Marler was instrumental in helping triple the size of the company. When LightSpeed was acquired by 365 Retail Markets in 2021, he joined its sales department. LightSpeed’s impact continues to live on as part of the 365 Retail Markets family of products. 

 Moran Refreshments (Patrick D. Moran) – Operator of the Year

The Operator of the Year Award is presented to a company that best exemplifies the consistent advancement of the convenience services industry. 

Moran Refreshments is a family-owned, breakroom refreshment service company offering traditional vending, office coffee and micro markets for qualifying clients. The company has built its business on superior service and quality products. The company began in 1989 starting with one truck and operating out of the family garage. Moran Refreshments has grown to be one of the largest vending companies in the East Texas area.

Patrick Moran is the president of Moran Refreshments and serves as secretary/treasurer of the NAMA board of directors.

G & J Marketing and Sales (Dan Kozlak) – Allied Member of the Year

In 2003, almost 20 years ago, Dan Kozlak founded SpecMark. He was known for pioneering new product categories and helping to shape brands in vending and micro markets. SpecMark was acquired by G & J Marketing and Sales in 2010, and Kozlak continued on with G & J as a partner and vice president of marketing and national accounts. Today, Kozlak continues to serve at G & J, spearheading marketing initiatives, selling strategies, and innovation for the frozen food section and beyond. His guidance and expertise to G & J and the industry drive the success of operators, manufacturers and distributors alike.

About the awards

The NAMA Industry Awards are presented to individuals that best exemplify support of the convenience services industry through a history of service and leadership throughout the industry and in their own communities. They must be innovative, possess a willingness to expand conventional practices and follow ethical business standards in accordance with the NAMA code of ethics.



Dick Atnip
Coffee Service

Dick Atnip to be recognized at NAMA’s Coffee Tea & Water Show

Nov. 10, 2022
NAMA announced that Dick Atnip of Atnip Co. Inc. has been named NAMA’s 2022 Coffee Legend of the Year.
Nama Logo

NAMA announces Marc Whitener of Refreshment Solutions to chair 2022-2023 board of directors

June 15, 2022
Leadership term comes as NAMA board focuses heavily on advocacy.
Photo 154666409 © Sergii Gnatiuk |
Dreamstime Xl 154666409

The 2022 NAMA Industry Awards will be presented in Chicago

March 17, 2022
This year's award winners include Mike Brown, Patty and Steve Closser, and Scott Halloran and Michael Calkins.
[Credit: NAMA]
Shown, from left, are Greg Sidwell, Tom Steuber, Jerry Scott and John Hickey.

NAMA announces 2021 industry award winners: Sidwell, Steuber, Scott and Hickey

Aug. 2, 2021
The National Automatic Merchandising Association today announced the 2021 winners of all four NAMA Industry Awards, which serve to recognize exemplary leaders in the convenience...