World Tea Expo Announces Lifetime Achievement Award Nominees

April 25, 2018

The World Tea Expo annually awards a tea industry leader with the John Harney Lifetime Achievement Award for their outstanding contributions to advancing the business of tea. The award is named after Harney & Sons' founder, John Harney.  

World Tea Expo's 11 tea industry professionals that make up the Advisory Board have chosen this year's 19 nominees. One of the board's selection criteria includes a consideration of each nominee's impact on the tea industry on both local and global scales. This year's nominees are made up of a diverse group of tea business experts who share a passion for tea.  

The 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award winner will be announced at the World Tea Awards & Opening Night Cocktail Reception, Tuesday, June 12, 2018, in the Las Vegas Convention Center's South Hall.  

2018 Lifetime Achievement Award Nominees 

Rahah Banerjee, founder of Makaibari Tea Estate 

Dan Bolton, editor/publisher, Tea Journey Magazine 

Charlie Cain, principal and executive consultant, Building Oz 

Babette Donaldson, founder, International Tea Sippers Society 

Kevin Gascoyne, owner, Camellia Sinensis 

Sanjay Guha, international tea consultant 

Richard Guzauskas, consultant/specialty tea industry 

Manik Jayakumar, founder and CEO, Qtrade Teas & Herbs 

Nigel Melican, managing director, Teacraft Ltd. 

Jane Pettigrew, author and speaker 

Bruce Richardson, author/publisher, Benjamin Press 

Louise Roberge, president, Tea and Herbal Association of Canada 

Ron Rubin, minister of tea and CEO, The Republic of Tea 

David Segal, co-founder and brand ambassador (retired), David’s Tea 

Thomas Shu, owner, JT & Tea Inc. 

Tim Smith, chief leaf, The Tea Smith 

Abigail St. Clair, owner, TeBella Tea Company 

Maria Uspenski, founder, The Tea Spot 

Bill Waddington, founder and president, TeaSource