Specialty Coffee Association of America Awards 10 'Coffees Of The Year'

The Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA) and the Roasters Guild awarded 10 specialty coffees with the "Coffees of the Year" title at its 2011 Coffees of the Year Competition, which will be celebrated at the 23rd annual SCAA Event, April 28 to May 1, 2011 in Houston, Texas. More than 121 specialty coffee submissions, representing 17 countries, competed in the prestigious annual event to be recognized as the best specialty coffees from around the globe from the 2010/11 crop. Experienced judges chose the winning coffees by cupping and thoroughly evaluating the sensory attributes of each coffee sample entered in the competition. The judges specifically assessed six distinct qualities of the coffee samples including fragrance, aroma, taste, flavor, aftertaste and body.

In addition to the ten winners, a People's Choice Award will be determined at the SCAA Event by attendees who will taste and vote for their favorite of the ten winners of the 2011 Roasters Guild Coffees of the Year Competition.

The winning varietals are: Bourbon from Camilo Merizalde, Cauca, Columbia; Pacas from Crecencio Izaguirre, Santa Barbara, Honduras; Maracaturra from Juan Ddiego De La Cerda from Fraijanes-Palencia, Guatemala; Typica from Bull Kaliawa, Ka'u, Hawaii; Catuai from Teodoro Amaya Montoya, Santiago de Puringla, Honduras; Bourbon from Gloria Rodriguez Fontan, Apaneca/Ilamatepec, Ahuachapan, El Salvador; Bourbon Amarillo from Adolfo Boppel, Barberena, Santa Rosa, Guatemala; and Typica from Mariana Iturralde, Sud Yungas, Bolivia.

For more information, visit www.scaaevent.org.